Skeet Hill House

Skeet Hill House was originally the Dower House of the nearby Lullingstone Castle Estate and dates back more than 400 years.  Lullingstone Castle Estate is a stunning 15-acre estate, built in 1497 and have been home to the same family ever since. Both Henry VIII and Queen Anne are known to have been regular visitors. Hidden in the grounds, alongside the River Darent, visitors will also find “Queen Anne’s” Bathhouse and an 18th century Ice House. Lullingstone was home to the famous Silk Farm, established in the 1930s, which produced silk for Queen Elizabeth II’s coronation robes and wedding dress.

Skeet Hill House was purchased by The Jewish Youth Fund (JYF) in 1943 for use by the The Brady Boys’ Club as a place of respite from the difficulties and dangers of life in the war-torn East End of London.   There are many wonderful photos of the Brady Club at Skeet Hill House through documented here.

The Jewish Youth Fund still own Skeet Hill House but it is managed and run by Sadeh, the Jewish farm and environmental community, who are continuously working to decrease the carbon footprint and increase Jewish environmental education within the community.

The retreat centre is used for Sadeh run retreats, school groups, team away days, weddings, workshops and much more. We have a kosher kitchen, swimming pool, tennis courts, accessible facilities and 74 beds as well as our farm and beautiful scenery.